Relaunch of Barbara Peace Foundation (BPF) Nepal and ‘Barbara Adams Investigative Journalism Award 2016’ Ceremony

On August 3, 2017, an event with the objective to re-launch the Barbara Peace Foundation (BPF) Nepal and felicitate the winner of the ‘Barbara Adams Investigative Journalism Award 2016’ was organized at the Nepal Tourism Board Hall.

Passing away of Barbara Adams, the founder and first chairperson of the BPF in 2015, had warranted the need to revitalize the organization. It was also the late Adams’ wish to restructure the Foundation, and she was highly intent on Dr. Sanduk Ruit taking over its leadership after her.

The restructured foundation, now chaired by Dr. Ruit, and comprising a team of Board Members, all respected and dedicated Nepalese who have achieved commendable feats in their respective professional fields, was unveiled at the event along with its expanded focus areas as follows:

  1. Post-earthquake social management in the affected communities
  2. Empowering sustainability programs
  3. Health projects
  4. Environmental movements
  5. Barbara Adams Investigative Journalism Award

Mr. Krishna Gyawali, correspondent of the Kantipur Daily newspaper, the winner among the 37 applicants to the ‘Barbara Adams Investigative Journalism Award 2016’, was felicitated and awarded with prize money of Rs. 100,001 and a certificate by the Chief Guest Prof. Suresh Raj Sharma. Gyawali was awarded for his effort to expose malpractices and corruption in the medical education system in Nepal.

The event saw Ms. Frances Howland, a longtime friend of Barbara Adams, handing over a check of Rupees 52 lakhs to the Vice Chair of the BPF Dr. Chandra Prasad Pokharel to go to the BPF trust.

The participants included Board Members of BPF, academic scholars, ambassadors, senior government officials, journalists and members of public. Some eminent personalities present in the event were:

  1. Prof. Suresh Raj Sharma, Vice Chancellor of Kathmandu University
  2. Prof. Kedar Bhakta Mathema, former Vice Chancellor of Tribhuvan University (TU)
  3. Prof. Chiranjibi Khanal, HOD, Central Department of Journalism & Mass Communication, TU
  4. Mr. Bhusan Dahal, Media Personality

The event was concluded with a high tea organized at the outer space of auditorium room for the guests.